Stein Rokkan Prize

Nomination Procedure

The prize is open to candidates from all social science disciplines; however ECPR Executive Committee members, the Director and ECPR editors are excluded from being nominated.

The work should be a very substantial and original contribution in comparative social science research.

The work can be an unpublished manuscript of book length, a printed book, or collected works published within the two years preceding the award ceremony. Edited volumes are not eligible.

The work should preferably be in English; however a submission written in another language can be nominated as long as it is accompanied by an English summary of the work.

Submissions must include: the author's name; book title; year of publication (if published); and the name of the person who makes the nomination. This must be sent together with a formal letter in support of the nomination from the head of a research institution, university department or research centre. This letter must include information on the nominee, for example an outline of their work, research interests, etc. and support of their candidacy for this award.

Submissions for this prize are now closed.

The 2014 prize jury comprises:

  • Klaus Goetz, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (Chair)
  • Ingrid van Biezen, Universiteit Leiden
  • Stein Kuhnle, University of Bergen and Hertie School of Governance
  • Manfred Schmidt, Universität Heidelberg

Announcement of the 2014 prize winner and information about the Award Ceremony

The decision of the Jury will be announced in June 2014. The prize winner will then be invited to attend an Award Ceremony and following reception, at the next conference organised by the ISSC (currently scheduled for 2015). During the ceremony the prize winner will be expected to give a public lecture on the work for which they have been awarded the prize.

Please forward any further queries to Louise Soper ( at the ECPR.