ECPR Council

Speaker of the Council

David Farrell
David Farrell, MRIA
University College Dublin


The Speaker of the Council holds a number of responsibilities including: chairing meetings of the Council; proposing amendments to the Standing Orders of Council; liaising with the Executive Committee over business matters and the formulation of the agenda of Council meetings; serving as Senior Returning Officer for Executive Committee elections and votes on amending the ECPR Constitution; being a general liaison point for members of Council vis-à-vis the ECPR.

David Farrell was first appointed as Speaker in 2013. He was re-elected in February 2016 for a further three-year term but stood down in September 2017. Elections for a new Speaker will be held following the forthcoming elections of members of the Executive Committee. Meanwhile, and in accordance with the ECPR Constitution, ECPR Chair Rudy Andeweg will act as Speaker.

About David

Professor David Farrell, MRIA, holds the Chair of Politics at University College Dublin. Prior to taking up this position in 2009 he was a Professor at the University of Manchester. In 2012 he was elected as President of the Political Studies Association of Ireland. From 2012–14 he was the research director of the Irish Constitutional Convention. He has been head of department at UCD and Manchester and was also Head of the School of Social Sciences at Manchester. He has held visiting positions at Australian National University, the University of California Irvine and the University of New South Wales.

David Farrell is (founding) co-editor of Party Politics and from 2007–13 was co-editor of the ECPR/Oxford University Press series on Comparative Politics. He specialises in the study of parties, elections, electoral systems and representation. His most recent books include: Political Parties and Democratic Linkage (with Russell Dalton and Ian McAllister; Oxford University Press, 2011; winner of the GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship in 2012); Electoral Systems (second edition; Palgrave Macmillan, 2011); Representing Europe’s Citizens? (with Roger Scully; Oxford University Press, 2007). His current work focuses on the role of deliberation in national debates over constitutional and political reform.


"...the good of man must be the objective of the science of politics" - Aristotle

Back to top