Hans Daalder Prize

2016 - Svenja Krauss

The winner of the 2016 Hans Daalder Prize is Svenja Krauss, for her Paper Stability Through Control? The Influence of Coalition Agreements on the Stability of Coalition Cabinets.

In the words of our Jury: Svenja’s Paper makes an important contribution to the existing scholarly literature on coalition government. We consider it to be original, relevant, theoretically sound, and based on impressive use of rich empirical data. It is well written and structured, and methodologically strong.

Svenja is currently working towards a PhD at Humboldt University Berlin. Prior to that, she was a Research Fellow for the DFG research project Bringing policies back in: Explaining payoff allocation in coalition governments at the University of Bamberg (October 2014 – March 2015) and the University of Hamburg (April 2015 – October 2016). Svenja gained her BA in Political Science at the University of Mannheim, and her MA, also in Political Science, from the University of Bamberg.

Her main research topics are Comparative Politics, Parties, Coalition Governments, and Quantitative Methods.

2014 - Christiane Barnickel

The winner of the 2014 Hans Daalder prize is Christiane Barnickel for her paper ‘Legitimation Policies in the Course of European Integration. Post democracy on the Rise?’

The committee considered the topic to be well-chosen in terms of its topicality, and with broad relevance to the concerns of the discipline. The paper offers a coherent and well-informed discussion of the literature, supported by the account of the contextual background and the presentation of a theoretically rich set of arguments balanced by the presentation of the empirical findings. The paper is well constructed and focused, outlining the methodology of the paper and a set of conclusions that suggest a rich vein of research for future exploration.

Christiane Barnickel is a teaching and research assistant at the chair of European Studies at the European-University Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder. Currently, she is writing her PhD thesis on the post-democratization of self-legitimation strategies of political actors. Her research focuses on democracy and legitimacy, discourse studies, and national parliaments in Europe.

2012 - Katrin Schermann & Laurenz Ennser-Jedenastik

The winners of the 2012 Hans Daalder prize were Katrin Schermann and Laurenz Ennser-Jedenastik, for their paper ‘Linking Election Pledges to Policy Outcome – The Austrian Case’.. The committee would like to point out that the paper is well constructed and laudably well focused. While the paper could be improved in terms of theory, it outlines relevant hypotheses and attempts are made to test the hypotheses empirically. The methodology of the paper is well elaborated and easy to replicate. The authors succeed in showing, within the limits of their approach of course, that in certain institutional conditions the likelihood of pledge fulfilment increases.

Katrin Schermann works at the Department of Government at the University of Vienna. She is a researcher within the team of the Austrian National Election Study (AUTNES). In 2010, she also joined the project Political Economy of Reforms (SFB 884) at the University of Mannheim (Germany). Currently, she is writing her PhD thesis on the topic of party pledge fulfilment in Austria. Her research interests include coalition politics, party competition, and the political process of reform-making.

Laurenz Ennser-Jedenastik is a researcher at the Austrian National Election Study (AUTNES) at the University of Vienna’s Department of Government. His research focuses on parties, party competition, coalition politics, political appointments, and patronage. His publications include articles in Governance, West European Politics, Party Politics, Political Studies, The Journal of Legislative Studies, and Local Government Studies.

2010 - Rahul Prabhakar

The winner of the 2010 Daalder prize was Rahul Prabhakar, for his outstanding paper ‘Globalized Finance and National Regulation’. This was presented by Simona Piattoni at the 2011 Joint Sessions in St. Gallen Switzerland.

Rahul Prabhakar is a student in International Relations and Clarendon Scholar at the University of Oxford. He earned an AB in Government magna cum laude from Harvard University in June 2009, and graduated as a John Harvard Scholar (top 5% of class) and member of Phi Beta Kappa. His research interests are in the politics of international finance and global regulatory cooperation, and he hopes to begin his doctoral studies in autumn 2011. He is from Long Island, New York.

2008 - Mette Bakken, Didac Queralt

The joint winners of the first Hans Daalder Prize are Mette Bakken and Didac Queralt, for their outstanding papers presented at the 2008 ECPR Graduate Student Conference, which was held at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. The prize was presented by Hans Daalder.

Mette Bakken presented the paper "Electoral Systems and Party Systems: Which is the Cause and Which is the Consequence?". Mette Bakken holds an MPhil. in comparative politics from Bergen University (Norway) and is a PhD student at the European University Institute in Florence (Italy). Her primary research interest lies within the area of electoral systems design and more specifically electoral system effects and electoral system reform. Previously, she has undertaken comparative studies in the area both in the African and Eastern European regions. Her PhD thesis will look into and systematise the various theoretical explanations for electoral system reform and analyse their empirical relevance in a global perspective. Since May 2008,Ms. Bakken has also been engaged with the EC-UNDP Joint Task Force on Electoral Assistance office in Brussels.

Didac Queralt presented the paper "Learning the Mechanical Effect of Electoral Systems". Didac Queralt is a PhD candidate at New York University. He earned a BA in Political Science at University Pompeu Fabra in 2004. He received an MA in Social Sciences at the Juan March Institute in 2006, an MA in Political Science and Sociology from University Pompeu Fabra in 2007, and an MPhil. in Politics from New York University in 2009. He is a Fulbright - Fundacion Ramos Areces fellow. His main field of research is Political Economy. His dissertation analyses the political determinants of barriers to economic growth, and its distributive consequences. He has completed research on strategic voting in non-majoritarian electoral systems in young democracies across Eastern Europe. He follows a research agenda on swing voting in national Spanish elections.


"The less the power, the greater the desire to exercise it" - Bernard Levin

Back to top