2016 Hans Daalder prizewinner revealed


ECPR is delighted to announce that the 2016 prize has been awarded to Svenja Krauss, for her Paper Stability Through Control? The Influence of Coalition Agreements on the Stability of Coalition Cabinets.

Svenja is currently working towards a PhD at Humboldt University Berlin. Prior to that, she was a Research Fellow for the DFG research project Bringing policies back in: Explaining payoff allocation in coalition governments at the University of Bamberg (October 2014 – March 2015) and the University of Hamburg (April 2015 – October 2016).

Svenja gained her BA in Political Science at the University of Mannheim, and her MA, also in Political Science, from the University of Bamberg.

Her main research topics are Comparative Politics, Parties, Coalition Governments, and Quantitative Methods.

Our Jury's Verdict

'Svenja’s Paper makes an important contribution to the existing scholarly literature on coalition government. We consider it to be original, relevant, theoretically sound, and based on impressive use of rich empirical data. It is well written and structured, and methodologically strong.'


See a full list of previous prizewinners

Keywords: Coalition

Share this page

"Politics determines the process of "who gets what, when, and how"" - Harold Lasswell

Back to top