Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”


Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”

Introducing six new members of our Executive Committee

We are delighted to announce that the following candidates have been duly elected to the ECPR’s Executive Committee to serve the term 1 May 2021 – 30 April 2027:

Ladislav Cabada

Ladislav Cabada – Metropolitan University Prague

Christian Haerpfer

Christian Haerpfer  – University of Vienna

Daniela Irrera

Daniela Irrera  – Universita di Catania

Gianluca Passarelli

Gianluca Passarelli  Sapienza University of Rome

Anne Rasmussen

Anne Rasmussen – University of Copenhagen

Amy Verdun

Amy Verdun  University of Leiden


Following the ECPR’s electoral rules, the election took place over three successive stages: nomination, endorsement and voting; and was presided over by Senior Returning Officer, Thomas Poguntke, University of Düsseldorf.

The election was to fill six seats on the 12-member Executive Committee, all vacancies were caused by the following members having served their full statutory term of office: Kris Deschouwer, Mary Farrell, Maurizio Carbone, Reuven Hazan, Petri Koikkalainen and Anna Sroka.

As set out in the Gender Equality Plan and in line with the ECPR’s broader mission to improve diversity and inclusivity within the profession, this election was designed to create greater gender parity on the Committee. To do so, two concurrent elections were run – one for women candidates and one for men.

Electoral Process

A call for nominations was issued in October and Official Representatives from Full ECPR Member institutions were able to endorse and then vote for candidates via the ECPR website between 1 December 2020 and 15 February 2021.

At the conclusion of the nomination period six candidacies were received in the female election and four in the male. All ten candidates then received sufficient endorsements to go through to final voting. The full list of candidates was as follows:

Female candidates

  • Margarita Gomez-Reino Universidad Nacional de Educacion a Distancia -UNED Madrid
  • Daniela Irrera Universita di Catania
  • Stella Ladi Queen Mary, University of London
  • Anne Rasmussen University of Copenhagen
  • Jane Suiter Dublin City University
  • Amy Verdun University of Leiden

Male candidates

  • David Bright Flinders University
  • Ladislav Cabada Metropolitan University Prague
  • Christian Haerpfer University of Vienna
  • Gianluca Passarelli Sapienza University of Rome


Results were calculated using the Single Transferable Vote System (Scottish variant) and verified by the Senior Returning Officer.

The six elected candidates will join the six ongoing members of the Executive Committee to serve under the Chairmanship of David Farrell, University College Dublin, for the next three years. The full Executive Committee for the term 2021–2024, will therefore be:

  • Ladislav Cabada Metropolitan University Prague
  • Giliberto Capano Bologna University
  • David Farrell University College Dublin
  • Christian Haerpfer University of Vienna
  • Daniela Irrera Universita di Catania
  • Hana Kubátová Charles University
  • Petra Meier University of Antwerp
  • Gianluca Passarelli Sapienza University of Rome
  • Anne Rasmussen University of Copenhagen
  • Thomas Saalfeld University of Bamberg
  • Sabine Saurugger Sciences Po Grenoble
  • Amy Verdun University of Leiden


05 March 2021
Share this page