Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”

ECPR Joint Sessions 2020 Sciences Po Toulouse

ECPR Joint Sessions of Workshops and Research Sessions - Past Events

The ECPR’s flagship event, the annual Joint Sessions of Workshops, were launched in 1973 and are a political science institution. Held every spring, the Joint Sessions bring together groups of researchers working on key areas of political science through the unique workshop format. To find out more about this must-attend event, see the past events pages below.

The ECPR’s Research Sessions, which ran each year from 1978 to 2000, and then from 2011 to 2016, enabled small, pre-established groups to meet in a fully supported environment during the quieter summer months.

Three days of intensive discussion allowed these groups to focus and move their project forward, often towards the publication of an edited volume of work.

The Research Sessions were open only to groups from ECPR member institutions, and priority was given to applications from ECPR Standing Groups.

Over recent years, the numbers of groups applying to take part in the Research Sessions had begun to dwindle, prompting a review of the event by the ECPR’s Executive Committee.

In 2016, with regret, the EC took the decision to remove this event from the ECPR portfolio.

Scholars with shared research interests can still of course take part in our thriving Joint Sessions of Workshops, which have taken place each year since 1973, in different cities across Europe.

And pre-established groups from ECPR Member institutions are of course welcome to use the excellent meeting facilities in ECPR’s headquarters at Harbour House in Colchester, Essex, absolutely free of charge.

Université catholique de Louvain, Mons, Belgium, UCL Mons

University of Nicosia, Nicosia

University of Nottingham, Nottingham

Radboud University Nijmegen, Nijmegen

Scuola Normale Superiore, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna and University of Pisa, Pisa

Radboud University Nijmegen, Nijmegen

University of Warsaw, Warsaw

University of Essex, Essex

Universidad de Salamanca, Salamanca

University of Essex, Essex

Johannes Gutenberg Universität, Mainz

European University Institute, European University Institute

University of, Antwerp

European University Institute, European University Institute

University of, St Gallen

Westälische Wilhelms-Universität, Munster

ISCTE, Lisbon University Institute; ICS; CIES and Portuguese Political Science, Lisbon

Institute d'Études Politiques de Rennes, Rennes

University of Helsinki, Helsinki

Intercollege, Nicosia, Nicosia

University of Granada, Faculty of Political Science and Sociology, Granada

Uppsala Universitet, Uppsala

University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh

Universita di Torino, Turin

Institute of Political Studies, Grenoble

, Barcelona

University of Copenhagen, Institute of Political Science, Copenhagen

, Uppsala

Universitat Mannheim, Mannheim

, Sandbjerg

University of Warwick, Warwick

, Bergen

Universität Bern, Bern

, Heidelberg

Universitet I Oslo, Institut for Statsvitenskap, Oslo

, Bergen

Institut d Etudes Politiques de Bordeaux, Bordeaux

, Tromsø

Palacio de Congresos, Madrid (Universidad Autónoma, Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia, Madrid

, Uppsala

, Trondheim

Leyden University, Leiden

, Gelsenkirchen

University of Limerick, Limerick

University of Essex, Essex

, Forli

, Rimini

Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum

Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques, Paris

, Rimini

University of Bologna, Bologna

University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam

, Mannheim

University of Gotheburg, Gothenburg

, Gothenburg

, Mannheim

, Barcelona

, Florence

Universität Salzburg, Salzburg

, Trento

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Freiburg

University of Aarhus, Aarhus

, Nijmegen

University of Lancaster, Lancaster

, Essex

Universities of Florence, Pisa, Siena and European University Institute, Florence

, Siedelsbrunn

Free University of Brussels, Brussels

, Essex

Universite des Sciences Sociales de Grenoble, Grenoble

, Mannheim

Freie Universitat Berlin, Berlin

Catholic University of Louvain, Louvain

, Bad Homburg

London School of Economics & Political Science, London

Institut D'Etudes Politiques de Strasbourg, Strasbourg

University of Mannheim, Institut of Social Services, Mannheim


Back to top