Hans Daalder Prize

The ECPR, in recognition of Hans Daalder, one of the Consortium's founding fathers, has instituted the Hans Daalder prize. This prize is an award of €1000 for an outstanding paper presented at the ECPR Graduate Student Conference and is awarded biennially.

Picture of Hans Daalder

Hans Daalder

Hans Daalder (1928) was Professor of Political Science at Leiden University in the Netherlands from 1963 to 1993. He was one of the eight founders of the European Consortium for Political Research in 1970 and followed its first Chairman, Stein Rokkan, as Chairman from 1976 to 1979 while he served as the first Head of the Department of Political and Social Sciences of the newly established European University Institute in Florence, Italy.


"Politics determines the process of "who gets what, when, and how"" - Harold Lasswell

Back to top