Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”

Democratic Innovations

Standing Group

Established 2010 - Number of members: 501

Steering Committee Chair

  • Nicole Curato (Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis, University of Canberra)

Steering Committee

  • Marina Lindell (Åbo Akademi)
  • Kimmo Grönlund (Åbo Akademi)
  • André Bächtiger (Universität Stuttgart)
  • Sofie Marien (University of Leuven) Co-Chair
  • Jane Suiter (Dublin City University)
  • Nardine Alnemr (Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis, University of Canberra) Webmaster
Visit their website
Join Standing Group


The focus of the Standing Group is on innovations that aim at deepening 'thin' representative democracy and their impacts on communities, structures, systems, policies and democratic participation. Despite a fundamental triumph of democracy, several tendencies in contemporary democratic systems give rise to concern, e. g. declining voter turnout and the support for populist parties or policies. Many scholars have called for more participatory forms of democracy where citizens are effectively included in political decision-making. By now, several democratic innovations have been tried out – different forms of citizen deliberation, direct democracy or governance with citizens’ associations. The focus of the Standing Group is to evaluate the benefits, disadvantages and shortcomings of democratic innovations. The SG organizes sections at the ECPR General Conference, and sponsors Workshops at the Joint Sessions.