EPS Prize

2017 - Christopher Pallas, Charity Butcher

We’re delighted to announce that the article Using dating as an analogy to teach IR theory by Christopher L. Pallas and Charity Butcher has been awarded the 2017 EPS prize.

Christopher and Charity had noticed how instructors often struggled to teach complex IR theories to their students.

With this in mind, they devised a dating-scenario analogy, challenging students to explain and theorise a fictional couple’s behaviour in a way that could be transferred to an IR analysis of state behaviour.

To begin with, students are invited to speculate why ‘Matt and Mindy’ ended their relationship. They then work in small groups to suggest various causes for the breakup, and write their answers on a whiteboard in unlabelled categories.

Each group is then challenged to defend their answers, which they often do by postulating ideas about human nature or social interaction. These ideas are assigned by the instructor to one of four IR theory categories – realism, liberalism, neo-Marxism and constructivism – linking the students’ ideas about human nature with the assumptions of each theory.

In working through the exercise, students gain an intuitive understanding of core international relations theories that facilitates their subsequent learning.

Read the full article FREE for the next 12 months

Go to journal's home page

Our judges’ verdict

After reaching their decision, the judging panel commented,

'This is an innovative and novel way to encourage political science students to think about and engage with IR theory. We liked the presentation of the method in a 'recipe-style', so that people can actually apply it, and the discussion is still fulfilling high standards; and the experience of dating is (somewhat) universal, so that students from different gendered, social and ethnic backgrounds can relate to it'.

In their own words

Learning of their win, Christopher and Charity told us:

‘We are delighted to have been awarded the prize of best article published in volume 16 of European Political Science. We appreciate EPS’s commitment to advancing the profession by promoting the scholarship of teaching and learning and we are honored that judges selected our work in this area for recognition.’

The £500 prize, generously funded by Palgrave, will be presented on Thursday 23 August at our General Conference in Hamburg.

About the winners

Christopher L. Pallas, PhD (LSE) is Associate Professor of Conflict Management at Kennesaw State University. He holds a dual appointment in the School of Conflict Management, Peacebuilding and Development and the School of Government and International Affairs. Prior to entering academia, he worked as a campus minister for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, a faith-based nonprofit, and served as a US Peace Corps volunteer, promoting microfinance in Togo, West Africa. His research focuses on civil society, global governance, and stakeholder representation in development policymaking. His publications include the monograph Transnational Civil Society and the World Bank (Palgrave 2013) and articles in Review of International Organizations, Global Governance, Development Policy Review, Nonprofit and Voluntary Studies Quarterly, and other journals.

Charity Butcher, PhD (Indiana University) is an Associate Professor of Political Science and is affiliated with the School of Conflict Management, Peacebuilding and Development at Kennesaw State University. She is currently an editor for the Journal of Peacebuilding and Development and teaches undergraduate and graduate courses on a variety of international relations topics. She conducts research on active learning within the college classroom and utilizes many active learning techniques, including simulations, in her courses. Her international relations research focuses on a variety of topics, including the role of ethnicity and religion in international conflict, interventions into civil wars, terrorism, international conflict, and civil society.

2016 - Katjana Gattermann, Ariella Huff, Anna-Lena Högenauer

The Prize for the best article appearing in the previous year’s volume of our professional journal, European Political Science, has been awarded jointly to Katjana Gattermann (University of Amsterdam), Ariella Huff (House of Commons) and Anna-Lena Högenauer (University of Luxembourg).

Their prize-winning article Studying a New Phase of Europeanisation of National Parliaments was published in Volume 15 (89–107 doi:10.1057/eps.2015.56).

The award, which carries a prize fund of £500 from co-publishers Palgrave, will be presented at our General Conference in Oslo.

The Jury's task was to find a submission that 'makes a substantial contribution to the field of political science, with a special emphasis on articles that contribute to the understanding of new and innovative trends in political science or to innovative approaches to teaching and learning in the profession.'

They judged that the winning article pointed to a new trend in national parliaments in the EU, and that it argued for the need to redirect our studies of these parliaments to better capture this development.

In particular, the authors argued that a new phase of Europeanisation is evident, where parliaments are increasingly 'mainstreaming' EU affairs, blurring the traditional distinction between national and European policies.

After first demonstrating the existence of this trend, the authors argued that it should have significant implications for future research. This trend, and the discussion of how to capture it in contemporary research, is especially relevant for readers of EPS.

2015 - Alexander Schmotz

The first EPS Prize was awarded to Alexander Schmotz (Kings College London) for his article ‘Vulnerability and compensation: constructing an index of co-optation in autocratic regimes’ published in Volume 14 (439–457. doi:10.1057/eps.2015.62). The prize committee comprised Professors Drude Dahlerup (University of Stockholm, chair), James Newell (University of Salford) and Gianfranco Pasquino (University of Bologna). In their report the committee noted: ‘This article develops an innovative index of co-optation in autocratic regimes, which goes beyond the usual limited institutional focus. The author argues that co-optation is constituted by the compensation of regime vulnerability through institutional inclusion and material benefits to various pressure groups. Consequently, the index is based on indicators of vulnerability and compensation for a variety of pressure groups from military, capital and labour to parties, ethnic groups and landowners. Further, the index is tested on models of survival or breakdown of autocratic regimes. We find that this article makes an original contribution to the literature by offering a comprehensive measure of co-optation, and at the same time, the author is well aware of the limitations of the research, not least the scarcity of good indicators of compensation and vulnerability.

According to the statutes, this prize shall be given to an article that makes a substantial contribution to the field of political science. We are sure that Alexander Schmotz’ article will be frequently cited in the future. It is innovative, theoretical sound, and - very impressive.’

The article can be accessed via the EPS webpages.


"The less the power, the greater the desire to exercise it" - Bernard Levin

Back to top