Endorsement stage opens for the ECPR Executive Committee election


About the ECPR Executive Committee

The EC is a 12-member board with responsibility for the organisation's long-term strategic development. ECPR is a charitable incorporated organisation (CIO), so EC members also act as trustees of the charity.

Members are elected for six-year terms. Elections occur every three years, when roughly half the Committee is replaced, so ECPR is looking to appoint six new members in this round of elections. 

EC members are respected professionals, eager to contribute ideas, time and energy to developing European political science. Each member is assigned responsibility for a portfolio area, such as Publications, Prizes, Standing Groups, Membership, or a specific ECPR event.


2017/18 Executive Committee election

The Nominations stage of the election ran between 15 October and 15 November - candidates from full ECPR member universities were invited to nominate themselves during this period. The Endorsement stage runs between 1 December and 1 January, during which Official Representatives from full ECPR member institutions will be invited to endorse up to three candidates. For inclusion on the final ballot, a nominee must:

  • Receive at least five endorsements,
  • Have endorsements from Official Representatives of full-member institutions in at least two countries,
  • Have endorsements from Official Representatives of full-member institutions of both sexes.

Endorsements to all candidates are possible throughout the endorsement period (i.e. it remains possible to endorse a candidate who has already met the criteria set out above).

Candidates receiving sufficient endorsements will go through to the final Voting round of the election. This final stage runs between 15 January and 15 February, during which time ORs from full member Universities will be invited to vote for their preferred candidates. The final six elected Executive Committee members will be announced at the end of February and will take office alongside the six remaining EC members on 1 May 2018.

Browse gallery of current EC members, with biographies


Share this page

"In all forms of Government the people is the true Legislator" - Edmund Burke

Back to top