Jean Blondel PhD Prize

Nomination Procedure

Rules and Guidelines for the submission of entries for the 2017 Jean Blondel Prize:

  • The thesis must have been examined and been deemed to have passed between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2016. However, the doctorate need not have been officially conferred during this period.
  • Each ECPR FULL member institution can nominate no more than ONE candidate for the prize.
  • The candidacy must come via the ECPR Official Representative or the Head of Department.
  • Only full member institutions can nominate candidates for the prize, and the thesis nominated must have been submitted at that institution.
  • The topic of the thesis should fit broadly within the field of political science and political thought. For example, work on political economy should draw substantially on relevant political science literature as well as on any economics literature, likewise work on comparative constitutions should draw substantially on relevant literature from political science as well as from law, and so on.
  • The thesis shall be the work of a single author.


The submission must comprise (as two separate PDF files):

  1. A letter from the Official Representative or Head of Department of the member institution at which the doctorate was conferred;
  2. One document to contain the following:
    a. Title page containing the following information: name, institutional affiliation, title dissertation, supervisor/promotor
    b. 15 pages text of summary with max 5 pages of references
    c. Annex I: table of content full dissertation as figured in PhD officially submitted for defence
    d. Annex II (only for PhDs based on a compilation of articles): information on status of publication: in review process/published and journal 

Submissions (as detailed above) must be sent to no later than midnight on 2 February 2017. Submissions received after this date will not be accepted.

The documents will be used to select a short-list (usually of not more than five candidates). The authors of the short-listed theses will then be asked to provide an electronic copy of their complete thesis by the 31 March 2017. 

The 2017 prize Jury is comprised of:

  • Birgit Sauer, University of Vienna (Chair)
  • Mary Farrell, University of Plymouth
  • Petra Meier, University of Antwerp
  • Ferdinand Müller-Rommel, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg


Short-listed theses written in languages other than English that are not familiar to the members of the Jury will first be read by a specialist in the field. Should they feel the thesis is a strong candidate for the Prize, the ECPR will pay for up to 20,000 words to be translated into English, so that it can be judged equally by the panel. 


The criterion for this prize is that, with suitable amendments, the thesis would make an outstanding book, addressing central themes in the relevant subfield(s) of the discipline, and hence would be suitable for inclusion in the ECPR Press’ Monographs series, which is published in English. Although it is hoped that the successful thesis will be published in the ECPR Press' Monograph series; the Press is not under obligation to offer a contract with the book series; and no candidate is under any obligation to accept such a contract if offered it.  However, the Series Editors of ECPR Press hope to start discussions as soon as possible with the winner, and on occasions, with some of the other shortlisted candidates. 

Prize Announcement

The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced by 30 September 2017. If it is deemed that no thesis reaches an acceptable standard, the committee may decline to award the prize in any given year. The successful candidate will be awarded the prize of €1,000, this will most likely be awarded at the Joint Sessions in Nicosia between 10-15 April 2018.


Expenses to attend the prize-giving at the ECPR Joint Sessions of Workshops will be paid for by the ECPR, who will arrange travel and accommodation for the winner only for a maximum of two nights. 


"Aristocracies … may preserve themselves longest, but only democracies, which refresh their ruling class, can expand" - Hugh Trevor-Roper

Back to top